What is the time zone of nunavut?

The Nunavut territory is divided into three time zones being Mountain, Central and Eastern Time zone.

The north western regions of Nunavut observe Mountain Time with daylight savings

  1. Kitikmeot region
  2. Kivalliq region – West of 102° West (alt +0176)
  • Mountain Standard Time (MST):– 7:00 UTC (behind)
  • Mountain Daylight Time (MDT):– 6:00 UTC (behind)

The middle part of Nunavut observes Central Time with daylight savings:

  1. Between 85° West and 102° West (except Southampton Island)
  • Central Standard Time (CST):– 6:00 UTC (behind)
  • Central Daylight Time (CDT):– 5:00 UTC (behind)

The east part of Nunavut observes Eastern Time with daylight savings:

  1. East of 85° West covering Sanikiluaq, Cape Dorset, Hall Beach, Igloolik, Artic Bay and Grise Fiord (except Southampton Island)
  • Eastern Standard Time (EST):– 5:00 UTC (behind)
  • Eastern Daylight Time (EST):– 4:00 UTC (behind)

Only Southampton Island (Coral Harbour) observes Eastern Time without daylight savings:

  • Eastern Standard Time (EST):– 5:00 UTC (behind)
Mountain Time
Central Time
Eastern Time
canada nunavut time zone map image
canada nunavut time zone map border road
canada time zone map 1
Click to enlarge

Travel to neighboring provinces and countries

Even though there are several zones within the Nunavut territory the time remains the same when crossing borders with other Canadian provinces or territories. The only exception is the south west border with Northwest Territories which will set you back -1 hour (behind)

Nunavut Daylight Savings Time (DST)

It starts on the second Sunday in March and ends on the first Sunday in November. In March the clock is moved forward from 02.00 am to 03.00 am (so you will lose an hour of sleep during the night). While in November it’s reversed as the clock is moved backward from 03.00 am to 02.00 am and you will gain an extra hour of sleep. One way of remembering the movement sequence is that clocks “spring forward and fall back”.

The total period of daylight savings lasts for 34 weeks which is about 65% of the year.

Other Canadian Provinces and Territories

You can check out information and maps of other Canadian Provinces and Territories by clicking on the below links.