What is the time zone of Yukon?

The Yukon Territory is in Mountain Time zone, but often also referred to as “Yukon Standard Time”. All places including the capital Whitehorse have the same time, there are no exceptions. This region is not observing any daylight savings so the clock remains unchanged during the year.

  • Mountain Standard Time (MST):– 7:00 UTC (behind)
canada yukon time zone map
canada time zone map 1
Click to enlarge

Travel to neighboring provinces and countries

If you travel outside the Yukon you might change time zones. But it really depends where and when you cross the border.

To British Columbia (BC):

  • Mid-March to October: Same time as in the Yukon.
  • November to mid-March: There is a difference of -1 hour (behind)

To Northwest Territories:

  • Mid-March to October: You will enter the Mountain Time zone which is +1 hour (ahead)
  • November to mid-March: You will enter the Mountain Time zone but with the same time as in the Yukon.

To U.S. State Alaska:

You will enter the Alaskan Time zone which is -1 hour (behind)

Yukon Daylight Savings Time (DST)

The Yukon does not observe daylight savings.

Other Canadian Provinces and Territories

You can check out information and maps of other Canadian Provinces and Territories by clicking on the below links.