What is the time zone of Mexico?

Mexico is divided into four different time zones being Pacific, Mountain, Central and Eastern Time zone.

Central Time

The central and eastern areas of Mexico are in the Central Time. This covers the majority of the country and includes the capital Mexico City. It also observes daylight savings.

  • Central Standard Time (CST):– 6:00 UTC/GMT (behind)
  • Central Daylight Time (CDT):– 5:00 UTC/GMT (behind)

Pacific Time

The northwest area of Baja California bordering California is on the Pacific Time. It also observes daylight savings.

  • Pacific Standard Time (PST):– 8:00 UTC/GMT (behind)
  • Pacific Daylight Time (PDT):– 7:00 UTC/GMT (behind)

Mountain Time

The west part covering the states of Baja California Sur, Chihuahua, Nayarit, Sinaloa, and Sonora observe Mountain Time. It also observes daylight savings.

  • Mountain Standard Time (MST):– 7:00 UTC/GMT (behind)
  • Mountain Daylight Time (MDT):– 6:00 UTC/GMT (behind)

Eastern Time

The most eastern state of Quintana Roo, including popular tourist places as Cancun and Playa del Carmen, is on the Eastern Time. It is also the only state without daylights savings time.

  • Eastern Standard Time (EST):– 5:00 UTC/GMT (behind)
Pacific Time
Mountain Time
Central Time
Eastern Time
mexico time zone states map
mexico time zone border road map
central america time zone map
Click to enlarge

Time of neighboring islands and countries

You might change time zones when traveling outside Panama.

To Columbia:

  • There is no time difference as it’s is in the same time zone all year round.

To Costa Rica:

  • When crossing the border with Costa Rica you will enter the Central Time zone, which is -1 hour (behind)

Mexico Daylight Savings Time (DST)

There is no daylight savings time.

Other countries in Central America

You can check out information and maps of other Central American countries by clicking below links.

Pacific Time Mountain Time Central Time Eastern Time Atlantic Time
Mexico * Mexico * Mexico * Panama
Costa Rica
El Salvador
* = multiple time zones