What is the time zone of Lithuania?

Lithuania is in the Eastern European Time zone. All places including the capital Vilnius have the same time, there are no exceptions. The country is observing daylight savings so there are two different clocks depending on the time of the year.

  • Eastern European Time (EET):+2:00 UTC (ahead)
  • Eastern European Summer Time (EEST): +3:00 UTC (ahead)
lithuania time zone map
europe time zone map
Click to enlarge

Travel to neighboring countries

These are the times differences if you travel outside the country.

To Latvia: There is no time difference as you remain in the same time zone all year round

To Belarus: When travelling to the Belarus you will enter the Moscow Standard Time zone which is +1 hour ahead in winter. There is no difference in the summer period.

To Poland: When travelling to the Poland you will enter the Central European Time zone which is -1 hour (behind)

To Russia (region between Poland and Lithuania): There is an isolated Russian area between Poland and Lithuania that is in the Eastern European Time zone (+1 hour ahead)

To Sweden: When travelling to the Sweden you will enter the Central European Time zone which is -1 hour (behind)

Lithuania Daylight Savings Time (DST)

It starts on the last Sunday in March and ends on the last Sunday in October. In March the clock is moved forward from 03.00 am to 04.00 am (so you will lose an hour of sleep during the night). While in October it’s reversed as the clock is moved backward from 04.00 am to 03.00 am and you will gain an extra hour of sleep. One way of remembering the movement sequence is that clocks “spring forward and fall back”.

Other countries in Europe

You can check out information and maps of other European countries by clicking below links.

Western European Time & Greenwich Mean Time Central European Time Eastern European Time Moscow Time & Turkey Time
United Kingdom (UK) Albania Bulgaria Belarus
Azores Andorra Cyprus Russia
Faroe Islands Austria Estonia Turkey
Guernsey/Jersey Belgium Finland
Iceland Bosnia Herzegovina Greece
Ireland Croatia Latvia
Isle of Man Czech Republic Lithuania
Madeira Denmark Moldova
Northern Ireland France Romania
Portugal Germany Ukraine
Scotland Gibraltar
Wales Hungary
North Macedonia
San Marino
Vatican City