What is the time zone of California?

The state of California is in the Pacific Time zone. All counties and cities (incl. Los Angeles, San Francisco and San Diego) have the same time zone, there are no exceptions. California is observing daylight savings so there are two different clocks depending on the time of the year.

  • Pacific Standard Time (PST): – 8:00 UTC/GMT (behind)
  • Pacific Daylight Time (PDT): – 7:00 UTC/GMT (behind)
Pacific Time
us state California counties time zone map
USA time zone map 1
Click to enlarge

The neighboring states of Oregon and Nevada are in the same time zone. But you will be entering the Mountain time zone when crossing the southern border with Arizona.

California Daylight savings time (DST)

California is using daylight savings as also documented in the Uniform Time Act of 1966. During daylight savings the time changes from Pacific Standard time (PST) to Pacific Daylight time (PDT).

It starts on the second Sunday in March and ends on the first Sunday in November. In March the clock is moved forward from 02.00 am to 03.00 am (so you will lose an hour of sleep during the night). While in November it’s reversed as the clock is moved backward from 03.00 am to 02.00 am and you will gain an extra hour of sleep. One way of remembering the movement sequence is that clocks “spring forward and fall back”.

The total period of daylight savings lasts for 34 weeks which is about 65% of the year.

California time news, bills and legislation

There is a continuous debate about which time should be applied. Several bills have been introduced to legalize daylight saving time as the year-round clock, whereas others try to align the time with bordering counties or states. The table below gives an overview of the latest bills in the state of California.

Date Bill Status/Action Title/summary
No bills known

Other US states

You can check out information and maps of other US states by clicking on the below links.